Board Election Results

The American First Day Cover Society has elected five people to its board of directors for three-year terms beginning Jan. 1, 2011.

Four are incumbents, while one, although well known among FDC collectors, will be serving his first term on the Board. Here are the vote totals (five winners in bold):

Lloyd de Vries
Todd Ronnei
Ralph Achgill
Lorraine Bailey
Mark Goodson
Andrew McFarlane
Gil Celli

Four individuals received single write-in votes: Dave Fletcher, Maurice Landry, Larry Gassen, and Fred Collins. 167 valid ballots were counted.

De Vries is currently Chairman of the Board of Directors, and has served on the Board since 1987. Ronnei is the Society's First Vice President and Webmaster. Achgill is just completing a stint as Education Chairman and continues as Bourse Chairman for the AFDCS' annual show and convention, AMERICOVER. Bailey is part of the AFDCS Sales Division, handling the AFDCS Cachetmakers Series first day covers. Goodson is a co-author of the ongoing First Cachets catalogue project.

Michael A. Mellone of Jonesborough, Tenn., did not seek re-election this year. He was first elected to the Board in 1987.

President Chris Lazaroff thanked Richard Hoffman and Fred Gagliardi of the Connecticut Cover Club for their work in counting the ballots in this year's election, and the Nominating Committee of Helen Fowler, Mary Kay Fisher and Fred Fowler for recruiting the candidates.

Five seats on the AFDCS Board of Directors are elected each year for three-year terms, beginning Jan. 1 of the following year. In addition to the 15 elected directors, the president, the editor of the official journal, First Days, and the general counsel serve on the board ex officio, if not elected to the board themselves.

AFDCS directors are not compensated, nor reimbursed for their travel expenses. The board meets annually at AMERICOVER, the society's annual show and convention, which next year is being held Aug. 5-7 in Indianapolis, and via mail ballots as needed.

© 2024 AFDCS Contact Us