Board Election Results

AFDCS Elects Five To Its Board

The American First Day Cover Society has elected five people to its board of directors for three-year terms beginning Jan. 1, 2013.

Here are the vote totals:

Allison Cusick
Ralph Nafziger
John V. Colasanti
Douglas A. Kelsey
Thomas Peluso
A. Francis Kohut

Cusick, Nafziger, Colasanti, Kelsey and Peulso were elected to the Board. Colasanti is new to the Board, Cusick has served in the past, while Nafziger, Kelsey and Peluso are incumbents who have been elected to another term.

In addition, 17 members received write-in votes: Barry Kaplan (3 votes), Chris Calle (2), Bob Emrick (2), and one each for Mark Gereb, Henry Scheuer, Ken Lawrence, William Moore, Gregory Ciesielsk, John White, Carl Swain, Maurice Landry, Alan Warren, Cynthia Scott, Otto Thamasatt, Neal Parr, Dave Bennett and Eric Wile. There were 148 valid ballots submitted.

President Lloyd de Vries thanked Fred Levantrosser of Motor City Stamp and Cover Club for their work in counting the ballots in this year's election, and the Nominating Committee chaired by Susan Whitehead for recruiting the candidates.

Five seats on the AFDCS Board of Directors are elected each year for three-year terms, beginning Jan. 1 of the following year. In addition to the 15 elected directors, the president, the editor of the official journal, First Days, and the general counsel serve on the board ex officio, if not elected to the board themselves.

AFDCS directors are not compensated, nor reimbursed for their travel expenses. The board meets annually at Americover, the society's annual show and convention, which next year is being held Aug. 16-18 in Independence, Ohio, and via mail ballots as needed.

© 2024 AFDCS Contact Us