Ward Award Winners Named

Howard, Kaplan, Rosenthal Win AFDCS Ward Writing Awards

E. Lee Howard and the team of Barry N. Kaplan and Michael R. Rosenthal are the winners of the 2010 Philip H. Ward Award, presented by the American First Day Cover Society for best writing on first day covers.

Howard, a past president of the AFDCS and of its Robert C. Graebner Chapter in the Washington, D.C., area, took first place with his article, “Jesse Graham Holland, Pioneer Cachetmaker,” which appeared in the Dec. 1, 2009, issue of First Days, the society’s official journal.

Kaplan and Rosenthal’s “The House of Farnam Story: The Artmaster Era: 1988-2005,” which appeared in the Jan. 15, 2009, issue of First Days, was chosen as the runner-up for the Ward Award.

Back issues of First Days are available for $4.00 each postpaid within the U.S. from Deb Bennett, 1601 River Farm Drive, Alexandria, Va. 22308.

The awards will be presented at the AFDCS membership meeting during AMERICOVER 2010, the annual show and convention of the AFDCS, which this year is being held August 6-8 at the Chicago Marriott Oak Brook in Oak Brook, Ill.

The award, named in honor of Philip H. Ward (1890-1963), the distinguished Philadelphia stamp collector, dealer and journalist who was a pioneer in the field of first day covers, was instituted by the AFDCS in 1964. All articles appearing in First Days are automatically considered for the award; articles in other publications may be submitted for consideration.

Additional information can be obtained from the Ward Award chairman, Barry Ellis, 5117 Arrowhead Pass, Fort Wayne, Ind. 46804, or e-mail bellis1230@aol.com.

© 2024 AFDCS Contact Us