2011 AFDCS Executive Committee

Peter Martin, Ralph Nafziger Join AFDCS Executive Committee

The Board of Directors of the American First Day Cover Society, the largest not-for-profit organization in the world specifically for FDC collectors, has chosen Ralph Nafziger as its Recording Secretary.

At the same time, AFDCS President Chris Lazaroff has appointed Peter Martin as Editor of First Days, the society's official journal.

Both positions hold seats on the Executive Committee. In addition, the Editor is ex officio a member of the Board of Directors.

On the Executive Committee, Nafziger and Martin will join re-elected officers Chris Lazaroff of South Carolina, president; Michael Litvak of California, executive vice president; Todd Ronnei of Minnesota, first vice president; and Elliot Fischer of California, treasurer. In addition, the Board re-elected Lloyd de Vries of New Jersey as its chairman.

This is Martin's (right) second term as editor of First Days, which he edited from 2002 to 2006. An award-winning philatelic author and editor for more than 30 years, he also has served as the editor of Scott Stamp Monthly and American Philatelist, and is also presently the editor of Duck Tracks, the journal of the National Duck Stamp Collectors Society. He is the president of the American Philatelic Society Writers Unit 30, chairman of the APS Publications Committee, and a trustee of the American Philatelic Research Library.

Nafziger (left), a retired research chemist/supervisor with the U.S. Bureau of Mines, won the AMERICOVER 2010 Grand Award with his exhibit "The 3-Cent Oregon Territory Issue," as well as other gold medals in World Series of Philately competitions. Recipient of a Ph.D. from Pennsylvania State University, he has 117 professional publications and presentations to his credit, as well as many professional awards. His other hobbies include astronomy, photography, hiking, snowshoeing, and playing French horn in a municipal band.

AFDCS officers are not compensated, nor reimbursed for their travel expenses. The Executive Committee, which also includes the executive director (Douglas Kelsey), immediate past president (Thomas Foust), membership (Foster Miller) and education (Ralph Achgill) chairs, and the general counsel (Allen Klein), meets annually at AMERICOVER, the society's annual show and convention, which in 2011 is being held Aug. 5-7 in Indianapolis, and via mail ballots as needed.

© 2024 AFDCS Contact Us