Board Election Results

AFDCS Elects Four To Its Board

The American First Day Cover Society, the largest not-for-profit organization in the world specifically for FDC collectors, has elected four people to its Board of Directors for three-year terms beginning Jan. 1, 2014.

Three were incumbents, and the fourth is returning to the Board after an absence of a year.

Here are the vote totals:

Todd Ronnei, Minnesota
Lloyd de Vries, New Jersey
Robert S. Lewin, California
Mark Goodson, Indiana
Jeffrey A. Hayward, New York
Richard Gary Gibson, Maryland
A. Francis Kohut, Maryland

Ronnei, de Vries, Lewin and Goodson were elected to the Board, which voted this summer to reduce the number of elected directors from 15 to 12.

There were no write-in votes this year. There were 160 ballots submitted, of which 143 were valid.

Ronnei is presently Chairman of the Board of Directors, de Vries is president (which does not require prior election to the board), and Goodson is first vice president. Lewin, who had served previously on the board, is complaints and ethics chair.

President de Vries thanked Fred Levantrosser and the Motor City Stamp and Cover Club for their work in counting the ballots in this year's election, and the Nominating Committee chaired by D.A. Lux for recruiting the candidates.

Four seats on the AFDCS Board of Directors are elected each year for three-year terms, beginning Jan. 1 of the following year. In addition to the 12 elected directors, the president, the editor of the official journal First Days, and the general counsel serve on the board ex officio, if not elected to the board in their own right.

AFDCS directors are not compensated, nor reimbursed for their travel expenses. The board meets annually at Americover, the society's annual show and convention, which next year will be held Aug. 15-17 in Somerset, N.J., and via mail ballots as needed.

© 2019 AFDCS Contact Us