2016 Show Jury Named

Exhibits Jury Set for Americover 2016

Elizabeth Hisey of Florida will head the exhibits jury at Americover 2016, a World Series of Philately show that will be held Aug. 19-21 in Falls Church, Va.

Hisey will be assisted by Darrell Ertzberger and Peter Martin, both of Virginia, Hal Vogel of New Jersey, and Steven Zwillinger of Maryland.

Click this link to download the prospectus and entry form. The deadline for entering the Americover 2016 exhibition is June 1, 2016, or whenever the 160 available frames fill up, as happens most years.

The emphasis at Americover is on First Day Cover exhibits, and about three-fourths of each exhibit should consist of FDCs and related material. (Ship cancellation exhibits and polar philately exhibits will be exempt from the FDC requirement this year.) All three divisions (Postal, Illustrated Mail and Display) of the General class of exhibits will be accepted, as well as One-Frame and Youth exhibits.

Hisey is vice president of the American Association of Philatelic Exhibitors, co-founder and current treasurer of Women Exhibitors, and a member of the American Philatelic Society’s Committee on the Accreditation of National Exhibitions and Judges (CANEJ) and the Smithsonian National Postal Museum’s Council of Philatelists.

Ertzberger is also a member of CANEJ, a bureau member of the International Federation of Philately’s Commission for Thematic Philately, and has been active in running NAPEX, the World Series of Philately show in the Washington, D.C. area.

Martin is a former chair of Americover, former editor of First Days, the journal of the American First Day Cover Society (which sponsors Americover), and currently the editor and publisher of La Posta, the journal of American postal history.

Vogel is a recognized world authority on polar history and polar philately and received the first doctorate awarded in polar studies. The author of the landmark reference book Essence of Polar Philately, he is currently vice president of the American Society of Polar Philatelists, which is convening at Americover 2016.

Zwillinger has compiled first day cover catalogs for Aden, Burma, pre-Independence India, and British Somaliland, and is a columnist for The Philatelic Exhibitor and the American Stamp Dealer & Collector. He has also served on the boards of the APS and NAPEX.

As a WSP show, the winner of the Grand Award at Americover 2016 will be part of the Champion of Champions competition at Stampshow 2017. Jane King Fohn, winner of the 2015 Grand with " The 9-cent Alamo Stamp and Its First Day Covers," will represent Americover this summer in Portland, Oregon.

The Americover Grand prize is again a crystal pyramid provided by the AFDCS' Claude C. Ries Chapter.

In addition, if six or more competitive single-frame exhibits are entered, the Curtis B. Patterson Award recipient for the best single-frame exhibit will be invited to enter the APS Single-Frame Champion of Champions competition at AmeriStamp Expo in 2017.

Besides its Grand and Reserve Grand awards, Americover offers special awards from both the AFDCS and other philatelic societies, including ones for best exhibits of foreign FDCs, topical FDCs, pre-1931 FDCs, best exhibits by a novice and a youth, and best single-frame exhibit.

The three-day World Series of Philately show will be held at the Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park, and there is a special Americover room rate of $99. The discount code is ACVACVA.

In addition to the Polar Philatelists, the AFDCS and Universal Ship Cancellation Society are also holding their conventions at Americover 2016. There also will be two bourses (commercial dealers and cachetmakers), a banquet, seminars, a youth table, two hospitality suites each night, live and silent auctions, a pre-show tour of the area, a post-show evening dinner event, and possibly a U.S. first day ceremony. A forum by a postal official involved with first day covers is also on the schedule.

Unlike other WSP shows, Americover's exhibit awards are not presented at its banquet (which is held Friday night), but at the AFDCS Business Meeting Saturday morning.

AFDCS 2016 Officers

AFDCS Re-elects Officers for 2016

The Board of Directors of the American First Day Cover Society, the largest not-for-profit organization in the world specifically for FDC collectors, has re-elected the Society's officers for another one-year term.

At the same time, the Board also selected Todd Ronnei of Minnesota for another term as its chairman.

The 2016 AFDCS officers will be Lloyd de Vries of New Jersey, president; Michael Litvak of California, executive vice president; Mark Goodson of Indiana, first vice president; Ralph Nafziger of Oregon, recording secretary; and Ed Mendlowitz of New Jersey, treasurer.

AFDCS officers are not compensated, nor reimbursed for their travel expenses. The Executive Committee, which also includes the executive secretary, immediate past president, editor, membership and education chairs, and the general counsel, conducts business throughout the year and meets annually at Americover, the society's annual show and convention, which in 2016 will be held Aug. 19-21 in Falls Church, Va.

The AFDCS board will also meet at Americover and conduct other business throughout the year.

© 2015 AFDCS Contact Us